2. It All Started With….

brrr

Hi All,

Well in the last post you got to know who we were and the basic function of this blog.  Here we start to put meat to the bones and look at reasons why we decided to make a move to the other side of the world.

It all started around a year and a half ago when my fiancee and I were sitting in our little flat in the incredibly expensive county of Surrey.  Outside the night was drawing in (bearing in mind that it was only around 4 pm ish) and we were enjoying a good ‘ol cup of tea.  We had the TV turned onto BBC 1 and the channel decided to throw a little bit of fate our way in the form of Wanted Down Under, the TV show which jets people off to either Australia or New Zealand to see if they could make a go of it.

As we were watching, Stefania (who seriously suffers with the winter cold in this country) was shivering on the settee holding onto her cup as if her life depended on it.  “I don’t really know how I can cope with another winter here” she said to me as I stood watching with increasing concern at her predicament.  My fiancee and I are incredibly close and we always seem to know what the other is thinking.  I said “perhaps we should move to somewhere else” whilst watching the lovely weather on the programme.  Before meeting Stefania, I played rugby for a local club (at the time) and one of the best players we had decided to up sticks and move to Oz.  This was playing on my mind at the time I spoke because of the TV show and the fact that I was slightly jealous of him going somewhere exotic – at the time I was very much stuck in the UK.

Stefania looked up at me and said “why not Australia?”, upon hearing this and watching the beautiful scenery and houses and the better work-life balance and so on, I could only agree, and seriously whole-heartedly!

Stefania had lived in New Zealand and thoroughly enjoyed it.  I have always wanted to see much more of the world, but always something seemed to be in the way.  Here now started the WHOLE BALL ROLLING….the journey of a lifetime in which we are still experiencing….a dream to cling onto when times would get a little tough….something to aspire and plan for….to move to Australia!

Cheers and more next time!

Leave a Reply

